Destination
Best eSIM for the UK in 2026: Seven Providers Ranked for England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland
Which eSIM is best for the UK in 2026? We rank seven providers on price and network quality across England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.
Some links on eSIMVerdict are affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Commercial relationships never affect rankings or conclusions; our assessments are based on independent research.
The best eSIM for the UK in 2026 is Airalo, on our analysis, because its UK plans run on EE, the network that leads Opensignal's January 2026 UK report for reliability and 5G reach, and rural strength matters once your itinerary leaves the big cities. Pricing starts at $4.00 for 1GB and reaches a competitive $0.78 per GB. Nomad is the value pick with optional UK calls and texts, Saily is the simplest buy with unrestricted hotspot use, and Honest Mobile is the local-MVNO route for stays of a month or more.
A UK-wide guide has to answer questions an England city break never raises. Which networks hold up in the Scottish Highlands and the Welsh valleys? What happens near the Irish border, where phones in Northern Ireland routinely latch onto signals from the Republic? Which plans cover both the UK and Ireland for a Belfast-to-Dublin itinerary? We deal with all of that below. If your trip is London plus English day trips, our dedicated best eSIM for England guide covers that ground in more detail; this page ranks the providers that make sense across all four nations.
At a glance
- Airalo - best overall: runs on EE, the strongest UK-wide network, from $4.00/1GB
- Nomad - best value, with optional UK calls and texts, down to $0.78/GB
- Saily - easiest to use, unrestricted hotspot, UK plans from $4.49
- Holafly - best unlimited, and a multi-network hedge for rural touring
- Yesim - cheapest entry point, day passes from $0.51
- Honest Mobile - best local MVNO for stays of a month or more
- Holiday.com - best for repeat UK visits, one reusable eSIM
Comparison table
| Provider | Cheapest UK plan | Best per-GB rate | UK network(s) | Unlimited option | Calls/SMS | Hotspot |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $4.00 / 1GB / 3 days | $0.78/GB (50GB, 30 days, $39.00) | EE | Yes, 3GB/day fast then 1 Mbps, from $11.50 | On Uki Mobile+ plans (+44) | Yes | |
| $4.50 / 1GB / 7 days | $0.78/GB (50GB, 30 days, $39.00) | Three, O2, Vodafone | Yes, from $11.00 (3 days) | Optional bundles | Yes | |
| $4.49 / 1GB / 7 days | ~$1.55/GB (20GB, 30 days, $30.99) | Not disclosed | Yes, $48.99 | No | Yes, no restrictions | |
| Holafly | $11.90 / unlimited / 3 days | n/a (unlimited only) | EE (Orange/T-Mobile), Three, Virgin Media O2, Vodafone | All plans, $73.90 for 30 days | No | 1GB/day |
| Yesim | $0.51 / 500MB / 1 day | ~$0.95/GB (30GB, 30 days, $28.60) | Not disclosed | Yes, day passes from $3.43 | Virtual number optional | Select plans |
| £12.15/mo / 4GB | Unlimited £25.00/mo (less with loyalty discount) | Three, plus EE and O2 via Smart Signal | Yes, £25.00/mo | Yes, unlimited UK calls and texts | Yes | |
| Holiday.com | UK from $3.50 | ~$1.60/GB (5GB/7 days, $8.00 offer) | Not disclosed | Yes, 3GB/day fast then 10 Mbps | No | Yes |
Prices verified on provider websites and independent listings, 19 July 2026 (Holiday.com checkout price 18 July 2026). Travel eSIMs in USD; Honest Mobile is a UK subscription MVNO priced in GBP.
How we ranked them
Every eSIMVerdict ranking scores providers on the same eight criteria: price, coverage, network quality, plan flexibility, transparency, ease of use, hotspot support and customer service. For this UK-wide guide, network quality carries the most weight, because the gap between networks widens dramatically outside England's cities. We have not personally field-tested these eSIMs across the UK; where we describe performance, it comes from published measurement reports and customer feedback.
The UK network picture: what changes outside England
Three companies now run Britain's mobile infrastructure: EE (BT Group), Virgin Media O2, and VodafoneThree, created when Vodafone and Three merged in June 2025. Which one your eSIM rides on matters more in Glen Coe than in Greenwich.
EE is the benchmark, especially in rural areas. Opensignal's January 2026 UK report gave EE the top awards for reliability (915 points) and consistent quality, with users on 5G 77.4% of the time, against 57% on O2 and under 40% on Three and Vodafone. For Highland road trips, the North Coast 500, Snowdonia and the Pembrokeshire coast it remains the safest single network, which is the core of the case for Airalo.
VodafoneThree is closing the gap fast. One year into an £11 billion network programme, the merged operator has removed more than 16,500 km² of signal not-spots, lifted 4G speeds by roughly 20% across nearly 15,000 legacy Three sites, and pushed Three's 5G population coverage from 65% to 72%, per a Frontier Economics report covered by ISPreview in July 2026. Most of those reclaimed not-spots sit in exactly the rural Scotland and Wales terrain this guide cares about, so plans hosted on Three or Vodafone (Nomad, Honest Mobile) are measurably better propositions than in 2024.
O2 covers a lot of ground, slowly. O2 won Opensignal's coverage-experience award but recorded the slowest overall and 5G download speeds of the four networks; none of our ranked providers is O2-only. Meanwhile the Shared Rural Network, the operator-government mast-sharing programme agreed in 2020, keeps adding sites in the hardest terrain, with planning applications progressing across Scotland. Even so, dead zones remain a fact of Highland and mid-Wales travel, so download offline maps whichever provider you choose.
The practical rule: any provider here is fine for city-hopping. For the Highlands, rural Wales or the Northern Irish coast, pick EE hosting (Airalo) or a multi-network setup (Holafly, or Honest Mobile's Smart Signal).
Northern Ireland, the Irish border and EU visitors
Northern Ireland is fully covered by the UK networks, so every eSIM in this guide works in Belfast and Derry. The complication is the land border. Phones near it regularly pick up stronger signal from Irish networks, a problem common enough that Ofcom's roaming rules, in force since 1 October 2024, specifically require UK operators to protect customers from inadvertent cross-border roaming. On a UK-only travel eSIM the symptom is simpler: the plan has no Irish coverage, so a phone clinging to an Irish mast shows no usable data. The fix is to set network selection to manual and pick a UK network near the border.
If your itinerary actually crosses the border, and most Causeway Coast or Belfast-Dublin trips do, buy a regional plan covering both the UK and Ireland instead. Airalo's EU + UK plans start at $4.00, Saily's Europe plan covers 35 countries including both from $4.99, and Nomad and Holafly sell equivalents; our best eSIM for multiple destinations guide compares them.
EU and EEA visitors should check their home tariff before buying anything. Post-Brexit, the EU's roam-like-at-home rules no longer guarantee UK coverage, though many European operators still include the UK voluntarily; if yours does not, a $4-13 eSIM beats per-MB surcharges easily. Americans face the opposite arithmetic: Verizon and AT&T day passes run $10-12 per day in the UK, so an eSIM pays for itself within about two days, as our eSIM vs roaming comparison shows in full.
1. Airalo - best overall for the whole UK
Airalo's UK eSIM runs on EE, which settles the Scotland and Wales question before it is asked. Fixed-data plans run from $4.00 for 1GB up to 50GB for $39.00 over 30 days, or $0.78 per GB, with 90-day and 180-day options for extended stays. Unlimited plans (3GB per day at full speed, then 1 Mbps) start at $11.50 for 3 days and reach $72.00 for 30 days. New for 2026, Uki Mobile+ variants add +44 calling and SMS, closing Airalo's old data-only gap. Top-ups are supported, the apps (4.7 iOS, 4.6 Android) remain the category's slickest, and the main gripes in customer feedback are occasional activation hiccups and chat-only support; our full Airalo review has the detail.
2. Nomad - best value, with calls and texts
Nomad matches Airalo's headline rates, from $4.50 for 1GB to 50GB at $39.00, and sells the most useful voice bundles in this guide: 5GB with 100 UK minutes and 100 SMS costs $13.00. Unlimited plans start at $11.00 for 3 days, with a genuinely full-speed 30-day unlimited at $49.00; standard unlimiteds throttle to 512 kbps after the daily allowance. A free 1GB trial lets you sanity-check coverage before paying. Nomad connects to Three, O2 and Vodafone with 5G, but not EE; two of those networks are the ones VodafoneThree is actively improving, so the rural penalty shrinks by the month, but for a Highlands-first itinerary Airalo's EE hosting is the safer bet.
3. Saily - simplest buy, unrestricted hotspot
Saily, built by the NordVPN team, sells UK plans from $4.49 for 1GB through 20GB at $30.99, plus an unlimited option at $48.99. Its stand-out policy is tethering: plan pages state hotspot use is unrestricted, the most generous published stance of any major provider, and the pick for anyone working from a laptop off a phone connection. Plans activate automatically on arrival, the app warns at 80% usage, and Saily displays a 4.7 Trustpilot score. The weaknesses are transparency ones: it does not name its UK host networks, and its refund terms are vaguer than its pricing, as our Saily review sets out.
4. Holafly - unlimited data and a built-in network hedge
Holafly sells only unlimited UK plans: $11.90 for 3 days, $27.50 for 7, $50.50 for 15 and $73.90 for 30. Its UK service lists connections via Orange UK and T-Mobile UK (EE's legacy network identities) plus Three, Virgin Media O2 and Vodafone, the broadest multi-network access in this guide and a genuine advantage in terrain where the strongest signal changes glen by glen. Fair-use management can temporarily reduce speeds for heavy users, and hotspot sharing is capped at 1GB per day. The value problem is unchanged: $73.90 for a month against $39.00 for 50GB from Airalo or Nomad. Pay it if unmetered data or the network hedge genuinely matters; our Holafly vs Airalo comparison runs the numbers.
5. Yesim - the cheapest way in
Yesim's UK line-up starts at $0.51 for a 500MB day pass, reaches roughly $0.95 per GB on its 30GB monthly plan ($28.60), and includes unlimited day passes from $3.43, with 5G throughout. That flexibility suits weekend trips and light users. The trade-offs: undisclosed UK host networks, plan-dependent hotspot support, and data-only service unless you add a virtual number. Budget hunters should also see our best budget eSIM guide, where MobiMatter's marketplace deals compete at this price level.
6. Honest Mobile - the local MVNO for longer stays
Honest Mobile is not a travel eSIM but a London-based MVNO on rolling monthly plans: 4GB for £12.15, 10GB for £17.50 and unlimited for £25.00, each with unlimited UK calls and texts, eSIM delivery in minutes, and a loyalty discount that grows monthly to as much as 30% off. It runs on Three, whose coverage claim is 99.8% of the UK population, and its Smart Signal feature adds access to EE and O2 masts through a backup Smart SIM. Plans include 5 days of free EU roaming per trip, and the company is carbon neutral with pending B Corp status. The catch: Honest is a UK subscription managed in-app, not a prepaid trip product. For a month-plus stay, a semester or relocation it beats every travel eSIM above on price per GB and adds a real UK number; our Honest Mobile review digs into the details.
7. Holiday.com - the repeat visitor's eSIM
Holiday.com, built by the ExpressVPN team as a standalone eSIM (no VPN included), advertises UK plans from $3.50, with 5GB for 7 days seen at $8.00 under a launch offer, and honest unlimited terms: 3GB per day fast, then unlimited at a usable 10 Mbps. One eSIM profile is reusable across every future trip, the tidiest arrangement here for people who visit the UK several times a year. It does not disclose its UK host networks, which makes it hard to recommend for remote Scotland specifically, and Android setup can require manual APN entry.
Advantages and disadvantages
- Airalo - Pros: EE hosting, $0.78/GB, top-ups, mature apps. Cons: chat-only support, occasional activation issues.
- Nomad - Pros: cheap voice bundles, free trial, full-speed unlimited option. Cons: no EE access.
- Saily - Pros: unrestricted hotspot, automatic activation, strong Trustpilot score. Cons: undisclosed networks, vague refund terms.
- Holafly - Pros: broadest multi-network access, all-unlimited simplicity. Cons: dearest monthly cost, 1GB/day hotspot cap.
- Yesim - Pros: $0.51 entry, flexible day passes. Cons: undisclosed networks, plan-dependent hotspot.
- Honest Mobile - Pros: best long-stay value, UK number, Smart Signal multi-network. Cons: subscription model unsuited to short trips.
- Holiday.com - Pros: reusable eSIM, honest unlimited structure. Cons: undisclosed networks, Android APN fiddliness.
Who should choose what
- London plus Edinburgh in a week: Airalo 5GB ($12.00) or Saily 5GB ($12.99); every network is strong in both capitals.
- Highlands or North Coast 500 road trip: Airalo on EE, or Holafly for the multi-network hedge; take offline maps either way.
- Wales coast-and-valleys touring: Airalo 10GB, with Holafly the single-network-sceptic's alternative.
- Belfast, the Causeway Coast and a Dublin leg: Airalo EU + UK from $4.00 or Saily Europe from $4.99.
- Remote work from a laptop: Saily 20GB at $30.99 for the unrestricted hotspot.
- Need a UK number for calls: Nomad's 5GB + 100 minutes at $13.00, or Airalo's Uki Mobile+ plans.
- Staying a month or longer: Honest Mobile, unlimited at £25.00 a month with a real UK number.
- Several UK trips a year: Holiday.com's reusable eSIM.
The verdict
Airalo wins the UK in 2026 for one dominant reason: it is the only major travel eSIM riding EE, and EE's lead in reliability and rural reach, confirmed in Opensignal's January 2026 data, is precisely what a UK-wide itinerary needs. At $0.78 per GB on the 50GB plan it charges no premium for the privilege. Nomad is the smarter buy for callers and value hunters, and Saily takes the bronze on ease of use and its unrestricted hotspot. Holafly earns its place as the multi-network unlimited option despite the price, Yesim owns the ultra-budget end, and Honest Mobile quietly beats them all past the one-month mark. England-only visitors should read our best eSIM for England guide, where MobiMatter's marketplace bargains join the shortlist; whichever provider you pick, our eSIM reliability guide explains the fair-use small print before you hit it.
Frequently asked questions
Which network is best for the Scottish Highlands?
EE, on current evidence, which is why Airalo leads this ranking. Opensignal's January 2026 report scored EE highest for reliability and 5G reach, and its rural coverage has long been the strongest. The VodafoneThree merger is closing the gap, but expect dead zones in the glens on any network.
Will a UK eSIM work in Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland?
Every eSIM in this guide works throughout Northern Ireland. A UK-only plan has no coverage in the Republic, and near the border your phone may latch onto a stronger Irish signal and lose data; set network selection to manual if that happens. For any itinerary crossing the border, buy a regional plan covering both countries, such as Airalo's EU + UK plans or Saily's Europe plan.
Do EU travellers need an eSIM for the UK?
Check your tariff first. EU roam-like-at-home rules stopped covering the UK after Brexit, but many European operators still include the UK in their roaming zones voluntarily. If your operator excludes or caps the UK, an eSIM from $4-5 for a short trip is far cheaper than out-of-bundle roaming rates.
Is one eSIM enough for a London, Edinburgh, Cardiff and Belfast trip?
Yes. All four nations sit on the same national networks, so a single UK eSIM covers the entire journey. The only reasons to buy differently are a side trip to the Republic of Ireland, which needs a UK-plus-Ireland regional plan, or a stay long enough that Honest Mobile's monthly pricing wins.
How much data do I need for two weeks touring the UK?
Around 10-20GB. City stays lean on ubiquitous free Wi-Fi, but rural touring means mobile data for maps, bookings and streaming with no offload. A 20GB plan costs $25.00-30.99 from Nomad, Airalo or Saily; heavy streamers can take Holafly's 15-day unlimited at $50.50 instead.
Sources and fact-checking notes
- Airalo UK unlimited pricing ($11.50-$72.00), EE network, EU + UK regional from $4.00 - https://www.airalo.com/united-kingdom-esim - accessed 19 July 2026
- Airalo UK fixed-data pricing ($4.00/1GB to $39.00/50GB), unlimited 3GB/day then 1 Mbps, Uki Mobile+ calls/SMS - https://esimdb.com/uk/airalo - accessed 19 July 2026
- Nomad UK plans ($4.50/1GB to $39.00/50GB), voice bundles, unlimited $11.00-$49.00, Three/O2/Vodafone, 512 kbps throttle, free trial - https://www.nomadesim.com/united-kingdom-eSIM - accessed 19 July 2026
- Saily UK plans ($4.49/1GB to $30.99/20GB, unlimited $48.99), unrestricted hotspot, auto activation, data-only - https://saily.com/esim-united-kingdom/ - accessed 19 July 2026
- Saily Europe plan (35 countries incl. UK and Ireland, from $4.99, unlimited $49.99 at 3GB/day then 1 Mbps) - https://saily.com/esim-europe/ - accessed 19 July 2026
- Holafly UK unlimited pricing ($11.90-$73.90), partner networks (Orange UK/T-Mobile UK/H3G/VirginMediaO2/Vodafone), 1GB/day hotspot, fair use - https://esim.holafly.com/esim-uk/ - accessed 19 July 2026
- Yesim UK pricing ($0.51/500MB, 30GB $28.60, unlimited from $3.43/day), 5G, data-only - https://esimdb.com/uk/yesim - accessed 19 July 2026
- UK marketplace price floor (GigSky free 500MB, sub-$1 plans) - https://esimdb.com/uk - accessed 19 July 2026
- Honest Mobile plans (£12.15/4GB, £17.50/10GB, £25.00 unlimited), loyalty discount to 30%, Three network 99.8% coverage claim, Smart Signal/Smart SIM, 5 days free EU roaming, rolling monthly, eSIM - https://honestmobile.com/plans and https://honestmobile.co.uk/ - accessed 19 July 2026
- Holiday.com UK from $3.50, 5GB/7 days $8.00 offer, unlimited 3GB/day then 10 Mbps, reusable eSIM, undisclosed networks - https://holiday.com/ and checkout - accessed 18 July 2026
- Opensignal UK network report, January 2026 (EE reliability 915, 5G time shares, O2 speeds) via ISPreview - https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2026/01/ee-wins-big-in-opensignal-study-of-best-4g-and-5g-uk-mobile-networks.html - accessed 19 July 2026
- VodafoneThree merger (June 2025, £11bn) and first-year benefits (16,500 km² not-spots removed, 4G +20%, Three 5G coverage 65% to 72%) - https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2026/07/new-report-shows-network-benefits-of-the-vodafone-and-three-uk-merger.html and https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VodafoneThree - accessed 19 July 2026
- Shared Rural Network programme (agreed 2020, operator-government mast sharing, Scottish planning progress) - https://srn.org.uk/ and https://srn.org.uk/programme-progress/ - accessed 19 July 2026
- Ofcom roaming rules from 1 October 2024, incl. inadvertent roaming protections for Northern Ireland border areas - https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2024/09/ofcoms-roaming-rules-come-into-force-for-uk-mobile-operators.html - accessed 19 July 2026
- Post-Brexit UK-EU roaming status (no obligation, operator-dependent policies) - https://commonslibrary.parliament.uk/research-briefings/cbp-8649/ - accessed 19 July 2026
- US carrier UK day-pass costs (~$10-12/day) - https://simology.io/blog/att-verizon-tmobile-international-plans-cost-comparison-2026 - accessed 18 July 2026
Photo credits: Stuart MacInnes (CC BY-SA 2.0), Dronepicr (CC BY 3.0), all via Wikimedia Commons.